Straining vs not straining

Talk about your course experiences, ask questions of fellow Atlas Students and have fun!
Solon Aquila
Last Name: Aquila
First Name: Solon
Address: MineralDriveSanDiegoCA92119

Straining vs not straining

Post by Solon Aquila »

Greetings,
I'm very very new to the course and I'm having some troubles. The primary trouble is that there's a lot in the world that other people pick up on without a problem and I have trouble grasping unless I get very basic information. So I may not be getting the same 'information' when reading how to do the exercises as other people get when they read them.

I've been riding a bicycle daily for over a year, and started pressing it over this summer. I can do 15 miles in an hour and remain always in my top gears, so I'm not completely out of shape. I was able to get there in part by pushing myself on the bike, but then.. on a bike you're never really pushing as hard as if you were, say, trying to lift 150 lbs, you know?

I started the program a couple of weeks ago and instantly ran into trouble with phrases like 'until tired' and 'don't strain'.

I start with the dips and noticed very quickly that while I could do 5 or 6 (breathing right and all), after stopping for 10-15 seconds, I could only do 2 or 3 the second time. Well, I'm not Mr. Atlas, so I figured I'm just building up. I decided to do one set of dips at the start, then repeat that one set at the end, after all of the other exercises (week 1).. still much fewer on the second set than on the first.

Over a week I reached 12 dips on the first try, but never that many on the second set. Now my first set has dropped back to 10. When I'm doing the last few dips my arms start to shake and I can't seem to 'make' them push the way I've been able to make my legs push on the bicycle. I'm figuring that the 'shaking arms' thing is a sign that I'm straining.

I need to build up slowly, but I'm at a bit of a loss as to how.
My idea is: